Sonic the Hedgehog – 14 things you need to know

The fastest life form in the world is finally back. This time we are back to the open world. Here’s what you need to know before it’s released on November 8.

When Sonic the Hedgehog comes out next month, it won’t be long before the blue line appears. The game is scheduled to release on November 8 for Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PS4, PS5, PC, and Nintendo Switch. Blue Blur fans will find many interesting things for them. Check out 15 things you need to know before you get started.

1. history

The story of Sonic the Hedgehog takes place after the events of Sonic Forces and Team Sonic Racing. Written by Ian Flynn, best known for his work on IDW’s Archie Comics and Sonic the Hedgehog, Sonic, Amy and Tails travel to the Starpole Islands to find the Chaos Emeralds. But when the worm is inside, the ball splits. Sonic must explore the world to find friends and meet new enemies as guardians. The same character turns into an enemy, Wise, who tries to warn Sonic for unknown reasons.

There are references to previous games like Sonic Adventure’s Chao Garden. Sonic’s generations and powers are less memorable, but the endings all feel connected to Sonic’s history.

2. the island of the stars

The Starfall Islands are an archipelago, so there are several separate islands to explore. Sonic begins on the island of Kronos filled with plains, forests, and ancient ruins. Ares is an island of near desert sand and ancient architecture that is being explored. Meanwhile, the island of Chaos Mordor with its great volcanoes, lava flows, and sulfur. Each island is filled with sections of platforms that are jump pads or rails to grind, hit, and fight enemies.

3. playing outside

Unlike previous Sonic games, Sonic the Hedgehog is an “open” game, which means an open world. You will find special terms. There are towers to climb and explore, puzzles to unlock, world bosses to conquer, and gems to collect. You can also find Coco and give him a bigger Coco to increase his attack, defense, speed, and number of attached rings.

Collecting Chaos Emeralds is your main goal, but you also need to collect Portal Gears to access new cyberspace levels (more on that twice). Another big part of Sonic’s mission is defeating the Titans, giant robotic creatures that seem to match Sage. You can also meet and fish with big cats to get items from the store.

4. to the virtual space level

Are you worried about the lack of traditional spiritual levels? This is where virtual space works. Sonic enters this level with the gate key from the classic game. We have the Sky Sanctuary set by Sonic and Knuckles and the Green Mountain set by Sonic the Hedgehog. By completing various tasks in the cyberspace plane, such as collecting all the red rings or performing attacks against the clock, Sonic obtains a security key that gives access to the Chaos Emeralds.

5. Seeds of strength and protection

Red seeds increase Sonic’s attack power and blue shield seeds increase Sonic’s defense. From completing quests and opening iron containers to trading species in the Big Cat Fishing minigame, there are several ways to acquire both. By collecting the seeds, you can give the Hermit Coco, which will increase his attack and defense.

6. Competition

Combat plays a big role in Sonic the Hedgehog, especially when Sonic fights various enemies and world bosses. The classic backup and web attacks are back, but you can also hit, hit, hit. A dedicated attack button also allows you to perform basic attacks and combos. You can use abilities that do more damage by pressing another button in the combo.

7. ability

Like most open-world games, Sonic the Hedgehog has skill trees. Sonic can earn skill points and unlock new abilities, including Cyloop. By holding the button while running, Sonic can create a neon path to close the loop, damage enemies, or solve certain puzzles. Other abilities include Sonic Boom which launches projectiles into combos. Performing aerobatics in the air. It then uses an attack to stun and damage enemies. We will not spoil all, but some will be unlocked.

8. Automatic mode and control mode

Less experienced players can use auto mode which allows them to perform different attacks with a single button. Auto Combo is an option that automatically combines different skills. There are two control modes: action and high speed. Action mode is recommended for new players as it offers “more detailed platforming”. Broadband, on the other hand, offers higher speeds and targets long-term fans.

9. supersonic

Titans are probably the most powerful enemies ever introduced, but they must be defeated to progress. Cue Super Sonic, where Sonic uses the power of the Chaos Emeralds to become a fighter. It’s unclear how these games will work, but it will be interesting to see if you can explore open spaces like Super Sonic.

10. game time

What can you do in Sonic Frontiers? Morio Kishimoto says that the average gamer can expect 20-30 hours of gameplay, but in reality, finishers can double that amount. There may also be a way to speed up the game, which Kishimoto says is a “fun challenge” for players.

11. computer requirements

PC gamers can expect reasonable system requirements. Minimum system requirements: Intel Core i5-3470 or AMD Ryzen 5 1400, 8 GB of RAM, and GeForce GTX 660 or Radeon HD 7870 with 2 GB of VRAM. They guarantee 720p/30 FPS gameplay on low settings. Recommended requirements include a Core i5-6600 or AMD Ryzen 5 2600, 12 GB of RAM, and a GeForce GTX 1070 or Radeon RX Vega 56 with 8 GB of VRAM for 1080p/60 FPS playback on high settings. Both require 30 GB of installation space and a processor that supports AVX and SSE4 instruction sets.

12. Ultra HD 4K

According to the official Xbox store, Sonic Frontiers will run in 4K Ultra HD on Xbox Series X, so PS5 gamers should expect the same. However, when it comes to frame rates, things get a bit more complicated. The Tokyo Game Show 2022 report indicates that the latest models will run at 4K/30 FPS with optional 1080p/60 FPS. The PS4 and Xbox One versions run at 1080p/30 FPS, while the Nintendo Switch version runs at 720p/30 FPS in Dock mode. Sega hasn’t officially confirmed these numbers, so take them with a grain of salt.

13. Latest free updates on consoles

When upgrading from a previous generation console to the current generation, Xbox supports Smart Delivery. So you can buy a game on Xbox One and fully upgrade it to Xbox Series X/S at no additional cost. PlayStation Store subscribers will receive the PS4 and PS5 versions, which allow for free upgrades.

14. Adventurer’s Treasure Chest and Explorer’s Treasure Chest

Of course, since it’s coming out in 2022, there’s a digital deluxe edition for early purchase rewards and early access to the game. Upon pre-order, you will receive an Adventurer’s Treasure Chest containing Skill Points, Red Energy Seeds, and Blue Defense Seeds. The $70 Digital Deluxe Edition offers the same content as the Explorer’s Treasure Box. Next up are Sonic Gloves and Boots, Chaos Emerald Vault Keys, Portal Gear, and Amy’s Memory Token. There is nothing you can’t win by playing games naturally, just go for it.

Leave a Comment